The Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP) program, financed jointly by the federal government and individual states and administered by the states, insures over 8 million children as of 2014 [1]. Of all children enrolled in CHIP, 17% to 23% have special health care needs [2]. Under the Children’s Health Insurance Program Reauthorization Act of 2009 (CHIPRA), states can now offer health insurance coverage to uninsured children in families with incomes above 200% of the federal poverty level (FPL) without facing major penalties. The federal government pays an enhanced matching rate for children in families up to 300% of the FPL and the Medicaid matching rate for children in families over 300% of the FPL. Across states, CHIP eligibility levels range between 175% and 405% of the FPL, with 33 states with income eligibility levels over 200% of FPL. For example, New Jersey operates a CHIP program called New Jersey Family Care for children in families whose income is up to 355% of the FPL. Premiums are required for those over 200% of the FPL, with a maximum premium rate of $133 per family, per month. At 355% of the FPL, the income eligibility ceiling for New Jersey Family Care is higher than the ceiling for most CHIP programs. The Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act of 2010 (ACA) contains provisions to strengthen coverage for children under CHIP, including requirements to conduct outreach and enrollment of vulnerable populations including children and youth with special health care needs. (View policy paper: Affordable Care Act and Children with Special Health Care Needs)

[1] Total Number of Children Enrolled in CHIP Annually, FY 2015. Retrieved December 21, 2015 from

[2] VanLandeghem, K. et. al. CHIRI™ Issue Brief No. 5. SCHIP Enrollees with Special Health Care Needs and Access to Care. 2006. 


Income Eligibility Limits for Separate CHIP Coverage as a Percent of the Federal Poverty Level (FPL), January 2017

State Income Eligibility Levels
 United States  N/A
Alabama 317%
Alaska N/A
Arizona 205%
Arkansas 216%
California N/A
Colorado 265%
Connecticut 323%
Delaware 217%
District of Columbia N/A
Florida 215%
Georgia 252%
Hawaii N/A
Idaho 190%
Illinois 318%
Indiana 262%
Iowa 307%
Kansas 243%
Kentucky 218%
Louisiana 255%
Maine 213%
Maryland N/A
Massachusetts 305%
Michigan N/A
Minnesota N/A
Mississippi 214%
State Income Eligibility Levels
Missouri 305%
Montana 266%
Nebraska N/A
Nevada 205%
New Hampshire N/A
New Jersey 355%
New Mexico N/A
New York 405%
North Carolina 216%
North Dakota 175%
Ohio N/A
Oklahoma N/A
Oregon 305%
Pennsylvania 319%
Rhode Island N/A
South Carolina N/A
South Dakota 209%
Tennessee 255%
Texas 206%
Utah 205%
Vermont N/A
Virginia 205%
Washington 317%
West Virginia 305%
Wisconsin 306%
Wyoming 205%
State Income Eligibility Levels
United States N/A
Alabama 317%
Alaska *1
Arizona 200% (closed)2
Arkansas *1
California *1,3
Colorado 265%
Connecticut 323%4
Delaware 217%1
District of Columbia *1,5
Florida 215%1,4,6,7
Georgia 252%8
Hawaii *1
Idaho 190%1
Illinois 318%1,9
Indiana 255%
Iowa 307%1,7
Kansas 247%10
Kentucky 218%1
Louisiana 255%1,11
Maine 213%1,4,12
Maryland *1
Massachusetts 305%1
Michigan 217%
Minnesota *1,13
Mississippi 214%
Missouri 305%1
Montana 266%
Nebraska *1
Nevada 205%
New Hampshire *4
New Jersey 355%1
New Mexico *1
New York 405%1,4
North Carolina 216%1,4
North Dakota 175%
Ohio *1
Oklahoma *1
Oregon 305%14
Pennsylvania 319%4
Rhode Island *1
South Carolina *1
South Dakota 209%1
Tennessee 255%15
Texas 206%
Utah 205%
Vermont *1
Virginia 205%1
Washington 307%
West Virginia 305%
Wisconsin 306%1,7
Wyoming 205%

N/A: State does not have a separate CHIP program

Note: income limits are MAGI-adjusted to include a five percentage point disregard of the FPL


Medicaid and CHIP Eligibility, Enrollment, Renewal, and Cost Sharing Policies as of January 2017: Findings from a 50-State Survey by Tricia Brooks, Karina Wagnerman, Samantha Artiga, Elizabeth Cornachione, and Petry Ubri. Table 1 Income Eligibility Limits for Children’s Health Coverage as a Percent of the Federal Poverty Level, January 2017, retrieved February 7, 2017 from

For state-specific footnotes on eligibility, see